Blog Banter

Welcome to the latest installment of Blog Banter, the monthly blogging extravaganza created by bs angel and coordinated by Game Couch. Blog Banter involves our cozy community of enthusiastic gaming bloggers, a common topic, and a week to post articles pertaining to said topic. The results are quite entertaining and can range from deep insight to ROFLMAO. Any questions about Blog Banter should be directed here. Check out other Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

In my opinion I love any game no matter what their rating. If I like the game idea and game play, I would play it no matter if they got a 2 rating or a 10 rating. A lot of people have different ideas on how games rate. For example one person might rate it a 10 and another person might think it deserves a 8. I think don’t think we should worry about the people that rate games because it is what they think about the game and not what you think.

You could have a very different opinion and have different ideas from the people that have the rating. There are a lot of people that would disagree with me. There are a lot of people that would only play 8 to 10 rated games. I think those people need to play low rated games so they can appreciated all different type of games. I have two ideas about the rating system that can help change this.

One is I would get rid of the rating system. I don’t believe that there should be one because if there was no rating on the game a lot of people would probably buy more different style games. Two I think they should change the rating of games. I think they should be a little less strict and easier on the ratings. I would love to see more games with lower ratings.

Here are all the people who joined me in writing about this topic.
Participants : Zath!, Delayed Responsibility, Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Game Couch

 

 

-kitty

10 thoughts on “Blog Banter

  1. […] Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Game […]

  2. silvercube says:

    Aww! Yes, I agree completely.

    So many people out there decide not to play a game just because it did not get a good rating. You will never know unless you try it out for yourself…

  3. Terry says:

    Interesting points and welcome aboard! One thing I hate to see is when reviewers review games in genres they aren’t familiar with for an audience that isn’t interested in the title. IGN’s review of Myst DS is horrible, for example.

  4. deckard47 says:

    Yeah, ratings so often lie, you have to just look at it and go with your gut. Like Advance Wars. Amazing reviews, made me want to go to sleep.

  5. jason says:

    Sadly, ratings systems work in that having one gets you more readers. I used to just write opinion reviews of movies on my site, but once I introduced my one to thirteen rating scale, I got more readers. People like to having things wrapped up nice for them.

    The joke is on them though, because I think I’ve only given a less than 7 review once… every movie, and by extension every game, is worth playing to someone. The key is in understanding if you are that someone. Managing expectations is, in my opinion, the single most important element when approaching… well… anything.

  6. […] Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Game Couch addthis_pub = ‘sjbarker’; digg_skin = ‘compact’; digg_window = […]

  7. […] Zath!, Delayed Responsibility, Silvercublogger, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Game Couch, XboxOZ360, Omnivangelist, Lou Chou Loves You. This entry was written by jason, […]

  8. […] Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, XboxOZ360, Omnivangelist, Lou Chou Loves You, Game […]

  9. […] Silvercublogger, weblog.probablynot.com, Crazy Kinux, Gamer-Unit, Unfettered Blather, MasterKitty, Omnivangelist, Lou Chou Loves You, Game […]

Leave a Reply

